Express Pharma
Home  »  Pharma Life  »  RSF honours outstanding scientists

RSF honours outstanding scientists


21st Annual Symposium on ‘Neurodegeneration’ was also held

Ranbaxy Science Foundation (RSF), a non-profit organisation set-up by Ranbaxy Laboratories (Ranbaxy) announced Ranbaxy Research Awards for excellence in original research work in medical and pharmaceutical sciences. The foundation also announced the Science Scholar Awards to the young and brilliant new generation of scientists.

The coveted Ranbaxy Research Awards in the field of Medical Sciences were given to Dr Amit Sharma, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi for his pioneering work in understanding function of malaria parasite proteins; Dr Balram Bhargava, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi for his work on developing the indigenous low cost platinum iridium coronary stent; Dr Gagandeep Kang, Christian Medical College, Vellore for his comprehensive research on diarrhoeal disease that led to important advances in Indian public health and Dr V Mohan, Dr Mohan’s Diabetes Specialities Centre, Chennai for his research work on pancreatic diabetes that led to development of ‘Mohan’s criteria’. In the field of pharmaceutical sciences, the sole award was given to Dr Santanu Bhattacharya, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore for his work promoting gene therapy.

The Science Scholar Awards, given to upcoming new generation of scientists in the Biomedical Sciences category went to Anuj Kumar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore for his research work in understanding hepatitis C virus replication and Bidyut Purkait, Department of Molecular Biology, Rajendra Memorial Research Institute of Medical Sciences (RMRIMS) (ICMR) Patna for designing better chemotherapeutic options for kala-azar. In the pharma sciences category, the awardees were Preshita P Desai, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai for the development and scale up optimisation of curcumin solid solution; Jasmine Kaur, National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research, Punjab for the development of a diagnostic agent called Aptamer used both for detecting cancer and delivering pharma substances specifically to cancerous cells and Bhushan Munjal, National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education & Research (NIPER), Punjab for his work on lyophilisation used to preserve perishable material and make them convenient for transport.

The awards were presented by scientist, Prof Rudi Balling Director, Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB), University of Luxembourg in presence of Dr Tsutomu Une, Chairman, Ranbaxy, Dr Nitya Anand, Chairman, RSF, Arun Sawhney, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Ranbaxy and Dr Rajinder K Jalali, Member, Governing Council, RSF.

RSF also held its 21st Annual Symposium on ‘Neurodegeneration’ which saw participation of TS Rao, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India; Nirmal Kumar Ganguly, Policy Center for Biomedical Research, Translational Health Science & Technology Institute; MV Padma Srivastava, All India Institute of Medical Sciences; Subrata Sinha, National Brain Research Centre and PN Tandon, National Brain Research Centre amongst others. The keynote speaker, Prof Balling delivered a special lecture at the symposium on neurodegenerative diseases.

EP News BureauMumbai

Comments are closed.