Express Pharma
Home  »  Pharma Life  »  AmeriCares India announces winners for the 6th Spirit of Humanity awards

AmeriCares India announces winners for the 6th Spirit of Humanity awards


This year, the impact sectors include – child health, diabetes, disability, eye care, education, livelihood, water & sanitation, and women empowerment

Spirit of Humanity Awards, an initiative by AmeriCares, announced its winners in eight categories recently. It was a culmination of three levels of short listing with ended with a grand awards evening. Reportedly, the programme, in its sixth year, received 400 registrations from NGOs across India of which 28 made it to the finale. The top eight were chosen after a live presentation in front of an eminent jury.

Until last year, the awards were predominantly focused on NGOs in healthcare; this year, it has extended to other categories namely – disability, livelihood, education and water & sanitation. Only one best from the four zones (N-E-W-S), for each category have made it to the finals, through a process monitored by KPMG in India.

Spirit of Humanity, is organised in partnership with Abbott, Allergan, Castrol, Novartis, State Bank of India, Bharat Serums and Vaccines, Ericsson, The Hans Foundation, SPJIMR, Idobro, Guidestar and JW Marriott. AmeriCares is also associated with Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation for significant projects on public health.


Talking about the change in awards this year, Shripad Desai, MD & Country Director, AmeriCares said, “It gives me immense pleasure to bring the 6th edition of The Spirit of Humanity Awards this year. Over the years, this platform has evolved for better. This year, apart from recognising the healthcare NGOs we have extended nominations to other impact sectors as well. We are thrilled to receive such an encouraging response from all the participants. We only hope and thrive to grow this platform further and encourage services of many in the future.”

The winner of the award received the prize amount of Rs one lakh, a certificate of excellence from the organisers and a trophy.

Comments are closed.