Express Pharma
Home  »  Latest Updates  »  ‘Innovation & Excellence’ sweep India Pharma Awards 2014

‘Innovation & Excellence’ sweep India Pharma Awards 2014

0 58
Read Article

UBM India recognises leading innovators across nine categories


UBM India unveiled the winners of the second edition of its annual India Pharma Awards 2014 in Mumbai. These awards honour innovation and excellence in the Indian pharmaceutical industry. Winners were declared across nine categories with around 100 companies participating in this year’s awards.

Dr Reddy’s Laboratories received the award in Operational Excellence – API category; Zydus Cadila Healthcare in Operational Excellence – Formulation; Jubilant Lifesciences in Excellence in Environment, Health & Safety (EHS); ACG Worldwide in Excellence in Packaging Development; Akums Drugs & Pharmaceuticals in Excellence in Contract Research; Piramal Foundation and Jubilant Life sciences in Excellence in Corporate Social Responsibility; Ranjeeta Vinil from Saarathi Healthcare in Emerging Entrepreneur of the Year; Ajit Singh from ACG Worldwide received the Lifetime Achievement Award and Dr JN Banerjee received the Special Jury Award.

Sudhanshu Pandey, Joint Secretary, Dept of Commerce, Govt of India, “Platform like these recognises people and motivates them to do better while continuing to inspire others. Last few years have been tough on the pharma sector due to various issues and challenges with regards to regulatory norms. But we must address these challenges in the right spirit. It is a long way for Indian pharma industry, but we are on the right track. India today boasts of world class facilities. The road maybe tough but we have what it takes to get there.”

Joji George, Managing Director, UBM India said, “Against the backdrop of the global pharma industry increasingly looking at India for higher quality and low cost pharma solutions, the India Pharma Awards celebrate the thinkers and creators who consistently break new ground in the pharma sector thereby taking the value chain to its next level. The consent of such an esteemed panel to be associated with this award further validates the industry need and acceptance of such a platform in India, to acknowledge and recognise the contribution of pharma companies.”

Dr Sudarshan Jain, Managing Director, Abbott Healthcare Solutions said, “The Indian pharma sector is clearly growing, making significant contributions to the Indian economy and putting us on the global map. This sector is redefining itself by moving to ‘next practices’ from ‘best practices’. We see strong thrust in the manufacturing arena in line with our national priority of ‘Make in India’. Some of the entries for the award clearly reflect good work done by the sector and augurs well for the industry”.

Express Pharma was the knowledge partner for the event. The process advisor to the event was Ernst & Young. The jury members were Dr Ajit Dangi, President and Chief Executive Officer, Danssen Consulting; Dr Safia Rizvi, Managing Director-UCB India; Devinder Pal, President-Catalyst Pharma Consulting and SV Veerramani, Founder and Chairman-Fourrts (India) Laboratories and President-IDMA.

EP News BureauMumbai

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 Introducing Smart Autoinjector: Changing the paradigm of usability, cost & size
Know More?