Express Pharma
Home  »  Latest Updates  »  Infosys Prize honours distinguished researchers in sciences and humanities

Infosys Prize honours distinguished researchers in sciences and humanities

Read Article

Amit Sharma receives the award in Life Sciences category

The Infosys Science Foundation recently honoured winners of the Infosys Prize 2015 for their outstanding achievements and contributions to research in the fields of science and humanities. Pranab Mukherjee, President, India, the chief guest for the event, felicitated the winners at a grand ceremony in Delhi. The Infosys prize was given in six categories − engineering and computer science, humanities, life sciences, mathematical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.

Amit Sharma received the award in the Life Sciences category, Mahan Mj for Mathematical Sciences, Umesh Waghmare for Engineering and Computer Science, Jonardon Ganeri for Humanities, G Ravindra Kumar for Physical Sciences and Srinath Raghavan, Social Sciences.

The winners were chosen by six renowned jury chairs. They were Chancellor Pradeep K Khosla, University of California, San Diego for Engineering and Computer Science; Prof Amartya Sen Harvard University for Humanities; Dr Inder Verma, Salk Institute of Biological Sciences for Life Sciences; Prof Srinivasa SR Varadhan, New York University for Mathematical Sciences; Prof Shrinivas Kulkarni California Institute of Technology for Physical Sciences; and Prof Kaushik Basu, The World Bank for Social Sciences.

Comments are closed.