Express Pharma
Home  »  Latest Updates  »  FIP honours pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists

FIP honours pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists

Read Article

Swedish pharmacist and German scientist receive FIP’s highest awards

Sixteen pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists from nine countries were recently honoured at the opening ceremony of the 75th World Congress of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in Düsseldorf, Germany. Their contribution to pharmacy was recognised through a number of awards from the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP). Two of these were the federation’s highest awards, recognising excellence in the fields of pharmacy practice and pharmaceutical sciences, namely:

Dr Thomas Lönngren of Sweden received the André Bédat Award, which is for a pharmacist who is an outstanding practitioner and who has made a significant contribution to pharmacy at an international level. Professor Hans Junginger, of Germany was presented with the Høst Madsen Medal which is for an eminent pharmaceutical scientist who has particularly distinguished himself or herself through research.

Other awards presented were Lifetime Achievement in Pharmacy Practice Award to Theo DK Raynor from the UK; Distinguished Practice Award to Dr Régis Vaillancourt from  Canada and Joseph A Oddis Award for Exceptional Service to FIP to Henri R Manasse, Jr from the US.

The FIP Fellowships were received by Claire Anderson from the UK; Jane Dawson from New Zealand; Dr Jennifer Dressman from Germany; Dr Linda Hakes from Germany; Dominique Jordan from Switzerland; Jennifer Marriott from from Australia; Dr Rebekah Moles from Australia; Hiroshi Suzuki from Japan; Dr Agathe Wehrli from Switzerland; Albert I Wertheimer from the US and Nobuo Yamamoto from Japan.

Comments are closed.